Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Beginning

Made my way down to Lock 1, the Carron Sea Lock, at Grangemouth this afternoon. This is where the Forth and Clyde Canal, at this point called the Queen Elizabeth II Canal, joins the River Carron.

Here's where it all begins, if travelling westward, or ends, if one is leaving the Canal for open water. Lacking the ability to walk on water, I decided west would be best for me and headed along the short Charlotte Dundas trail towards The Kelpies. From there I continued my walk along the towpath, past some of the less scenic and more industrial parts of Falkirk and ticking off the Canal locks as I went.

By the time I reached Lock 16 at Camelon, about 7km or 4.5 miles from the start, I decided to call it a day. I had parked in Camelon earlier and taken the bus from there to Grangemouth, so it was only another 15-20 minutes walk from the Canal to the car park.

The sun shone, there was a gentle westerly breeze and there were quite a few people out enjoying the weather and the scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.