Going up the last hill

Another interesting day, dealing with multiple issues from early in the morning until I left this afternoon. The last task involved looking through clinical notes and lab results, and pharmacy records to try and understand the treatment a new admission had had, and what had resulted in her admission.

Because I am being careful to avoid straining, I am walking by preference to a jog. The Nz Government has actioned what they signalled weeks back, and most controls are being removed and left with individual choice. Because I suspect that many young to middleaged men do not want to appear to be a wimp, they will (as a group) escalate their rejection of masks, small gatherings, and social distancing, and the success we have had in limiting the omicron outbreak will be abruptly overturned. I hope i am wrong.

It angers me that the misinformation brigade have leapt into claiming victory and having made the Government cease mandates. I know that most health care workers and almost all teachers have voluntarily and promptly been vaccinated. Mandates in those areas are probably not necessary. One young man I saw this morning has not had all his vaccinations and asked for more information when I said that we could help him. He will then make his decision, which we will respect. 

The way in which these self appointed influencers of public opinion link vaccines with random deaths, and refuse to believe when a grieving mother answers that her child did NOT die of the vaccination, and then segue into support for Putin's invasion of a peaceful neighbouring country, scares me. Additionally, others in the same camp have responded on social media that NZ is at war; a civil war because there is no invading force except for Alt right money.

These flowers calmed me temporarily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.