Plug-In Hybrid

The title has nothing to do with my blip :-)

We've been to the Carbon Neutral Northleach exhibition this afternoon, where I sat in, and was very taken by, a plug-in hybrid Lexus. Our CR-V has its first MOT next week and although the plan is to keep it for at least another two years I can see I am going to be easily tempted to change earlier. I am not ready for a full electric yet. Everyone we know who has one has had big problems charging recently. Our friends in Cumbria have a very expensive looking Jaguar, but had to drive home without lights recently as they couldn't charge it due to a software upgrade. A hybrid though sounds attractive.

We also talked to a few suppliers about heat pumps and got very confused. A chat with the Head of Climate Action at Cotswold District Council proved very useful though. It would seem that a heat pump for us would mean a huge upheaval and not a good idea. Solar panels on the other hand sound like something we could and should do.

Back to the blip. We had lunch on the patio and I was pleased the veranda sun blind worked really well. I was having fun trying to get a decent shot of a bee-fly (extra) when I spotted these ladybirds, also having fun.

In other news all our electrical sockets are OK now. The electrician tracked down the problem to a boiler/central heating fault.  When we switched the boiler electrics on the RCD tripped. This morning though I tried it and it was OK. I cancelled a British Gas appointment I had made for tomorrow, hopefully it will be OK now. If it does trip again I know what to do.

One year ago:
Brimstone
As we sat on the patio today I was just wondering if we would see any butterflies just as a brimstone fluttered by, much too fast to get a shot though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.