Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Up On The Roof

A busy day today. The roofers were due to arrive between 7:30 and 8:00 AM, which they did. I'm not sure there how many of them there were -- they moved around the different parts of the roof so quickly that I couldn't keep track, but I think there were at least eight. 

At the beginning, there were five vehicles. The one in the main picture left early after delivering the materials to the roof. The neighbors had been alerted and asked to not park in the cul-de-sac. I also apologized in advance for the noise.

Hamish was terrified by the noise at first, but after inspecting the goings-on while I carried him in my arms, his curiosity overcame the anxiety, and we made multiple inspections after we returned from the morning walk

It was fascinating to see how smoothly things progressed. The men all knew their tasks and worked hard as a team. I told Jason, the company co-owner, how impressed I was, and he told me he'd been training them for two years. Jason didn't stand around watching - he kept busy at ground level.

The job was finished much sooner than we anticipated, and they were all gone by 4:30. We are very happy with our new roof. It's hard to visual how something big will look by looking at a small sample. I had chosen a lighter color than the other roofs nearby in order to reduce heat absorption. The color is called Birchwood and there some blue tinges that weren't noticeable in the samples. It looks great with the blue paint.

We had to go sign (many, many) papers for our mortgage re-finance after lunch. My hand got very tired. We reduced the interest rate significantly, and reduced the term to ten years. There's a possibility I might live long enough to pay it off -- my Dad lived to 91, and he hardly ever went to a doctor and never exercised, unlike me. Keeping my fingers crossed - when I remember to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.