Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A change of scene

Writing my journal early because I find phone-tapping (if you get me) a trial when I’m sleepy… We’ve been on the move again. The night was disturbed by an outbreak of dripping from the en-suite shower room - not a new problem, but an unpredictable one which I think is a feature of a cheap cistern - all that plastic inside… I didn’t feel up to faffing with it, so slept fitfully, with dreams.

Somehow we managed to get up quite smartly, pack the car and get the ferry we were aiming for on a dreamy, Misty morning either the sky blue above the drifts of white on the water. We parked successfully in a street in Partick, in the West End of Glasgow and very close to my old haunts, though I don’t know that I ever walked there. The parking ticket was covered in dismal truths about the damage our outing was doing, but we pressed on to meet my cousin and his wife in another new hostelry for us, The Partick Duck Club. I can recommend the duck burger…

Some nifty use of my Waze app had us back onto the M8 without much bother, and here we are: in Edinburgh again, on a beautiful blue-sky evening, the air still and positively balmy and full of blackbird-song as the sun goes down.

Blipping a lovely magnolia tree in a garden along the road, spotted as we popped out for some milk. I’ve just discovered that my son’s house also has a magnolia, though smaller than this beauty.

And now a cat has come to sit on me and I can type no more …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.