A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Puffed & Chuffed

Cathy1947 isn’t the only one who’s seen a Puffin! Normally Atlantic Puffins can only be seen miles off the coast of Maine but this one must be an unusual species, a rare bird of sorts. MrsP and I were visiting our favorite gardening store and while browsing birdseed, I found this cutie perched on a box several feet above my head. I said “hello” but he didn’t react, so I followed up with a chirp. He blinked. Not yet satisfied I gave him a cheerful whistle. He growled! (what the male does on land, but is silent on the sea) • The best times for viewing Puffins here is from April to August when they’re laying eggs and raising their young on several islands off the coast (6 to 10 miles offshore) • It was thrilling to see the greenhouses filled with young plants from flowers, to herbs, to veggies. What an exciting time of year! In a month we’ll be planting radishes and lettuce, and a month after that we’ll be planting our veggie garden :) • Happy Friday, Happy Weekend to y’all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.