EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Western skunk cabbage

This plant must not have a nice fragrance but I have never managed to come close to it. So I can’t confirm. It grows mostly in swamped meadows and Indians used to eat it like spinach. This picture was taken by a friend who was in the forest with her hiking group. Since a week it has appeared everywhere around us . In the yard the tulips are growing and started to bloom, our biggest Rhododendron opened its first blooms - I should stop being surprised that spring is there. With each new year my feeling of awe over all the color and will to live that nature is showing seems to grow.
I read last night that birds are this year building nests and laying eggs four weeks earlier than usual. Climate change.
But when I compare my own postings from the years before, the blooming has not changed it’s date of appearance.

Another quiet day mostly indoors. A visit of a friend ; we could sit on the deck in the sun with tea and cake for a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.