Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

New Respect For June

June, my mentor, my friend, passed away in 2009. She was so beloved in Democratic, and progressive circles that the community took up a collection to buy a memorial stone. closer

Five hundred dollars was needed. Over two thousand was collected.

It had to be approved by a non-partisan group who had to decide whether the person contributed long-term to the benefit of the community.

It says's on her plaque, "June stood for peace on this corner and everywhere."

I am proud to say I often stood with her on that corner silently holding a sign opposing torture. Often she stood alone. But she was always there.

This new landscaping befits her. I can’t wait to watch it grow and flourish around her spirit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.