Saturday night in

I've clocked up a week of really unsettled nights.... maybe it's half-suppressed anxiety about the war in Ukraine; maybe it's also just a bad patch.  So a good chunk of today disappeared in a catch-up afternoon nap.
 
Tonight I'm staying over at Ruth and Josh's (possibly not a great recipe for a sound night's sleep, as I'm babysitting while they have a rare night out together). I'm staying over in order to give them some flexibility about how late to get home.  Luca and Eben are early risers, so I'll be in bed early (and, fingers crossed, able to sleep).

The grainy night-time phone photo was a quick shot when I got to Ruth and Josh's door earlier, and realised that Luca was still cleaning his teeth in the bathroom downstairs. I knew that walking in would interrupt the wind-down to bedtime, and so waited outside in the garden until he went upstairs with Ruth.

Each morning I look at the news on the phone, wondering how bad it will be.  Today's statements from the Russian govt about focusing on the Donbas, now rather than on the rest of Ukraine, were accompanied by missile attacks on the western city of Lviv.  Maybe these attacks were timed to coincide with all the NATO meetings taking place at the moment.  As ever, there is a lot of online speculation...  and there's little point getting immersed in that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.