Brutal

Tony blipped me at the finish of the British Championships today and I was standing, absolutely shattered having been out for nearly two hours, done 255m of climb up and down steep hillsides through brambles and closely planted thorny trees.  Above me on the back of the finish arch was one word 'Brutal' - it said it all. A bottle of lucozade and a brownie to replace the salts and sugars and rehydrate later, and I felt something like taking over the camera to capture runners finishing, most of them looking something like me.

This was my favourite blip of the day, Jenny from South Yorkshire Orienteers heading up the run-in to finish 4th in W40L with her daughter shouting 'Go Mum!' and taking off to run with her, and her Mum snapping the moment.

Tony finished in 8th place in his age class, and I finished in 18th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.