Mothering Sunday

Or Mothers' Day, whatever your inclination. My Mum always insisted on the former so the title is in her memory.

Almost 6 years since she died and just a few days away from the 2nd anniversary of my mother in law. Both women who were staunch supporters of their husbands through thick and thin and who put family at the very top of their agenda. Neither was sentimental or touchy-feely but provided the security of certainty to their children (and husbands!).

So this was my letterbox bouquet from LD. I'm not quite sure why I deserve a can of soup but inside it reads that I'm always there when needed and that's about as good a description of being a mother that I can think of. Oh, and apparently the soup is wearing red with a red cape so she thought of me. Hmmm ...!!

I couldn't play golf today, the last of our winter session, but went up to fraternise and eat cake and hand out prizes. It would've been rude not to. The carrot cake I had was delicious and I only discovered later had been made by someone's 4 year old, so he's now on the list of homebake providers ;-)

Now it's really pulling up my socks time and getting on with Doing Captainy Things, whatever they might be :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.