A day in the life

By Shelling

Built to last

Between the 1st of December till March 31st we have a law saying we have to use tires of a standard called "winter tyres", with or without studs. I have winter tyres without studs and I had them changed to summer tyres today. It cost me almost €500. I must admit that changing the tyres were free of charge but renovating my breaks on the car wasn't. Since they had to remove the winter tyres anyway to fix the breaks, I had them put my summer tyres on afterwards. Oh well, easy come easy go, but now I can trust my breaks and that is a good thing.

When walking home from the garage, it's really close to where I live, I passed this lovely old house from sometime during the early nineteenth century, or older. This kind of building technique was quite common in rural communities, there are several preserved in Sweden, especially here on Öland. Extremely simplified they put long, square and coarse logs on rocks, then fitted shorter logs standing on the bottom logs till you got a construction with squares. In a slot of the standing logs you slid down planks, to form the walls and then put another long log on top to lock the construction. Easy to build and easy to move to another place if you needed to. I love the coarse timber and the weathered look. They have been there for a very long time and looks like they could last another hundred years, something my hightech breaks won't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.