A day in the life

By Shelling

Stage

I've called myself sound-technician today at Kalmar theatre at, what we call, "The soup-theatre stage", meaning that you get a well made bowl of soup, bread, coffee and a cake + entertainment from the stage. Todays artists was a bluesband, who didn't have a name, only the name of their show "Now Then"? It could be read as Now&then or Now what? Which was intended. Blues music with a story and personal lyrics about life and getting older, starting with the well known sentence: "yesterday, today was tomorrow". All members, apart from the drummer were far over sixty. They'd borrowed a thirty year old drummer boy for the occasion. 

I thought they were going to be five people on stage but it proved to be six people instead. This meant I had to spend a couple of extra hours to set the stage in the morning for them to fit, then wait three hours before the group arrived to install themselves and then do a soundcheck. As you can see it was pretty tight on stage (also depending on the angle). 

Everything went just fine and they gave a very good concert, the best they've done, they said. Long day for me but what does that matter, if people are happy and satisfied with the work I put in. I was home by half past eight, a twelve hour working day. I won't do any comments today either, it'll have to wait till tomorrow. I wish you a good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.