Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

In my garden

Last night was a bit of a disaster due to the puncture, Gavin only got home at 9pm after waiting hours for the roadside assistance to come, and while I was lucky to get a taxi home from the airport so did not have to wait with him, I had a mad rush to unpack and sort out supper so I could eat before the camera club zoom meeting started at 8pm. As it happened I was still cooking at 8pm so had the zoom meeting with my camera off. 

Once a year we have a nature competition, as our camera club is quite strong on nature photography with a few members being very keen on wildlife. I was very pleased to win in my class and then to be awarded the overall winner of the competition, with one of my penguin shots (see attached). We have an annual exhibition in June where I will be awarded something for this.

Last night I had a really good sleep, it was the first time I have got more than 5 hours sleep per night in a week! I managed to go for a run and then get out with Xena for a walk, before going to get groceries and then go to the hygienist, which takes ages, so it was a very busy morning. 

There is much evidence of spring in my garden now, last year because of the late frost many things did not even flower. The squirrels kindly left me some hyacinths so I thought I would take a photo of them - the smell is heavenly! It was a dull day with poor light, so I was not feeling inspired to photograph anything else.

Tonight is the night we attend the gala dinner at Windsor Castle hosted by Prince Charles, where we will also be hearing the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra perform. There is no photography allowed, not even mobile phones (as expected). Gavin had to submit a CV a few weeks ago, and we have to take two forms of ID, one of which has to be a utility account or similar. Gavin has just arrived home from work early as we are driving there, so I had better go get ready as it is an early start to the function.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.