Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Scarista beach at sunrise, Harris, Scotland

We had another early morning, this time we went back to Scarista beach to photograph the sunrise. It was a subtle morning with soft pinks and no proper sunrise could be seen from behind the clouds but the colours were beautiful. This image has barely been edited, the colours were as you see them here. Then back to the hotel for a quick breakfast and to pack up. We did not pack last night as the wellies and tripod had to go in the bottom of the suitcase so it was all last minute stuff.

Stornoway airport was very quiet, which was good as getting through security takes some time as you even have to unpack your camera bag! 

I had a two hour interval at Edinburgh airport before my flight to Heathrow and it was great to finally get a decent cappuccino! I could not believe how busy Edinburgh airport was, especially after spending a week on an island with a sparse population we all found the airport crowded and probably a Covid risky area, especially as so many people don't wear masks despite it being required in Scotland. The queues at security were ridiculous and chaotic.

I loved my visit to Harris and Lewis. We were so lucky that we had such good weather all week, it is a miracle that we had no rain other than a few spots one day. As a result my images are mainly of soft colour palettes which I really like, rather than the expected dramatic stormy skies. It was exhausting but worth it, and while I would like a few days to rest I have a busy week ahead of me with various things on. I will catch up on journals when I can but it is going to be a difficult week.

We met the well known photographer Margaret Soraya a few times during our stay and the good weather meant calm seas so she was in the freezing cold water (10C) with her underwater camera getting images for a new exhibition that she is working on. She stays in her camper van so no hot bath due for her after that cold swim!

Gavin kindly came to the airport to fetch me, but on his way to the airport he got a puncture. He managed to get to Heathrow and met me, then put me in a taxi to get home as he had to sit and wait for his roadside assistance to come to repair the puncture. He had planned to cook a lovely supper for me to but that won't happen as it is now nearly 8pm and he is still waiting at the airport for the assistance. I managed to unpack and get my washing on, and now I have a camera club zoom meeting starting in a few minutes. I would have ordinarily missed it but it is a nature competition and I had submitted some entries so I did not want to miss it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.