Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Overkill?

This seems like a very big lorry to deliver 26 paving slabs, 5 bags of ballast and 5 bags of sand.  Apparently he has to stay on the highway so couldn't offload it by the garage so a human transfer was needed (probably just as well as 5 slabs were cracked) and Neil, husband of Louise who sits with Mr T, came out to give me a hand.  When David was here I did an hour in the garden, dug out most of the base and bashed in some hard core.  Then phone calls!  Alzheimer's Society called me back and gave me some really good pointers on how to phrase the CHC funding appeal, and explained to me how much I do without realising that is "nursing care".

A chat with my sister, Admiral as the validation chap cancelled the visit today and it's been so long since the storm damage things have got wrecked through being wet.  Then a call from the hospital that the date my operation was booked for is at a hospital I'm not insured for as I only have the very cheapest policy!  The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing.  I did manage to join the online meditation and start a bit of the appeal document.

Mr T had a nightmare and woke up "very frightened" at 04:00.  He's had this one before when he wakes up and doesn't know where he is and thinks he's in a car in the garage.  These are the kind of things I have to include in the appeal, that he needs me, my knowledge of him and to hear my voice to calm his anxiety and prevent his illness progressing faster!  He had a very good nap this afternoon as he was tired and it relieves the pressure from his sitting bones.

Our neighbour has been able to take some of the unused ELC toys that I'd got for Mr T and he just couldn't get to grips with (literally) have gone to a Ukrainian refugee family who will be arriving here which I'm really pleased about.  They're pretty much as good as new so will be so nice for a young child to have something after enduring so much.  I still can't quite get my head around the sheer number of people forced to leave their lives behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.