Spar

It's the Haytor Quarry Spar which has a good selection of ready meals, crisps, snacks and beverages (for non UK based blippers, Spar is a chain of small convenience stores). 

I met up with my friend John for lunch at the Tinpickle and Rhum at Haytor. After lunch we went off for a walk along the granite tramway to Haytor Quarry. It was nice and quiet today, the first time for a long time that I've found it with no one else there. it started to rain as we got close but not with any intensity. 

I've photographed the remains of quarrying machinery left here on quite a few occasions. Today, I chose to focus on this wooden spar that I should think was used to haul the granite blocks out. This is just the lower half, there's another part that's broken off which can be seen submerged below the surface.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.