Preparations

... are in hand for a greenhouse base to be laid later this week.  :-)

I have been gifted an unwanted greenhouse by my friends in Shropshire.  It moved from their previous garden but has lain in pieces for over a decade after a new and much larger one was installed.   I hoped to get a base laid last summer but life got in the way so it's exciting now that I am much closer to the end result.    It will afford more protection for both plants and grower, especially valuable during the months from November to March when so many of my most precious plants are in flower. 

So today was about getting cash for the builder to go and buy the materials - who knew my cash withdrawal limit was so low!   I use cash so rarely.   I also got ring bolts to be set in the concrete which will allow the greenhouse to be securely anchored.   Then to work levelling the site and clearing as much of the gubbins out of the way.   Plus, there's also the issue of a dog friendly area for Meg since most of the 'grass' is going.   I'm working on a suitable space but there are weeds and big roots to get out and that area needs levelling.   

A busy spell coming up one way and another as on top of my cafe work, there's a major shortage of train volunteers next week when daily running restarts and I could be on the trains several days too.   Never a dull moment!

Iris magnifica, a plant that I struggled to get established outside in Norfolk.   It seems happy enough here so far, now having come through two years out in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.