ferryoons

By ferryoons

Fence post

Pretty much an entire day spent searching the timber merchants of Inverness. Handyman wanted two 2.1m fence posts, and every company insisted on 2.4m minimum. All those firms and not one saw between them. 2.4m was too long to fit in the car so I could go home to my own, several saws.

Then we did what we should have done to start with, drifted into Highland Industrial Supplies (may they be thrice blessed and go directly to sainthood). I put on my distracted crofter’s face (not hard) and they said, which of our many pre-cut sizes would you like? They even speak feet and inches, after all those years I’ve spent doing metric. So I’m saying “100 by 100”, and they’re saying “yes, 4 by 4”. And they’re all so bloody nice!!

Anyway, here’s the pointy end of a post, and the sky really was that blue (briefly)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.