PING!

Basically two reasons for this:-
1. So I have a record of when I bought it.
2. To show the Group, to see if they can ID it before it actually flowers, so I'll know whether to over-winter it indoors or out; some being less frost tolerant than others.

I'm in a carnivorous plant group.  They do a lot of "Shorthand" where possible/applicable.  You can't do much with Dionaea muscipula (NO! I do NOT mean Diane Muscular) unless you go all "commonlike" and refer to it as Venus Fly Trap and then talk about you VFTs.  By a similar process the various Drosera become "Sundews".
However with the Butterworts (Pinguicula), all varieties are known as "Pings" .
They all gain a varietal name where required, but the short handle often remans and you might read of a ping - esseriana, though a Sundew bipinata is less likely than a Drosera bipinata.

I nipped across to ask the group. first post I saw:-
"Do you think this ping has mites?"

"Here endeth the lesson."

;¬)
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.