I get an F for customer service

Last night I heard mouse sounds in the kitchen and went to check them out. I looked around the pot and came face to face (six inches) with a mouse before s/he went down into the stove.

I grew uncomfortable cooking.

The handymen came over. They added foam spray to my steel wool. Actually, it looks hideous. Fortunately, you can't see any of it unless you look. I really could have done better. Moving the dishwasher was a huge job but wow! If I were a mouse I would definitely want to live back there. There was a big hole, there was lots of nesting material insulating the dishwasher. It looked very appealing.

It was all incredibly stressful and I took a walk afterwards. 

This morning I discovered the mouse, that has been trapped with us instead of in the walls, had tried to get into the birdseed. It failed, because it is in good plastic, but I realized I am an idiot. I leave chocolate bait, I leave peanut butter, I leave fancy granola. What brought them into the garage? Birdseed. What did they open in my kitchen? Birdseed. I washed the three humane traps and the bucket trap and put birdseed in all of them. 

Then this evening I caught the mouse. 

I CAUGHT THE MOUSE
I CAUGHT IT 
I CAUGHT THE MOUSE!!!! 
Or she surrendered, putting her trust in me to keep the promises I made the other day. 

I just bought glue traps. I just bought electric killing traps. I had just decided that tonight was the last night of humanity, tomorrow we go rough. 

I spoke sweetly. I reassured. Karen got the bucket trap. I moved her to the bucket trap and drove her away, playing soft classical music. She got to eat birdseed while we drove (and it sounded like she did a little). I thanked her for placing her trust in me and assured her this really was the better way and it wouldn't even be cold tonight. I dumped the whole pile of birdseed in the park. 

And now we listen and see who is left. 

Meanwhile,
Putin and his military leadership have some tension in their relationships. Putin feels "misled." So sad.

Inflation in Russia is up 15.66% and the value of the ruble has tanked. Sugar is really expensive so no sweetness there. 

Ukrainian soldiers found a cute dog named Bavaria and adopted her. She's black and looks part poodle. 

Russians have started another form of protest. They are writing anti-war messages on currency. It is handwritten or stamped. One of the groups behind it is called, "Feminist Anti-War Resistance."

The head of Britain's GCHQ spy service said that new intel shows some Russian soldiers not only sabotaged their own equipment, but refused to carry out orders and accidentally shot down one of their own aircraft. 

Global sanctions have shut down a Russian car maker (Lada), stopped work on tanks, and blocked a computer maker's access to circuits used in communications equipment (Baikal Electronics). Taiwan's TSMC, the world's largest contract chipmaker, left the Russian market. Their chips are used in Russian intelligence and military systems. Given the global shortage of chips you know TSMC won't suffer. 

Texas A&M University is offering direct aid, including free tuition, to Ukrainian students. At least 14 students will qualify for free tuition, fees, and some living expenses. This comes weeks after the school cut ties with Russia. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.