Candy Everybody Wants/Welcome, Baby Girl!

We had terrible, terrible thunderstorms in the afternoon on Thursday, but the morning before that wasn't too bad, so my husband and I were out running around, doing things, in my Mazda.

He wanted to jog, so we drove to the gameland for that, and while I had a pink umbrella to protect me, he did not. So he got a righteous soaking when the rain arrived part-way into our exercise venture. But he didn't care; he said it was refreshing to run in the cool rain.

After that, we decided to stop by Way Fruit Farm for another pair of club sandwiches, since the ones we had on Monday were so lovely. This time, we were driving, though, which was much easier than walking a mile through a total whiteout during dangerous snow squalls!

I had requested our sandwiches and was noodling around the shop, waiting for the order, so I took some photos of the candy section, just for fun. They have many kinds of older candy (those two-tone round sweet/sour lollipops are a personal fave), and one of these days, I'm gonna get me some!!!

Now, I must interrupt this perfectly normal Blip posting to shout out this happy family news: We have a BRAND NEW BABY GIRL in the family! My older brother Robin's son Cameron and Cam's wife Tanesha gave birth to a little girl on this day.

She is perfect, and her name is Rio Josette. (Josette is in honor of Joseph, Cameron's brother, who slipped into his celestial star-suit in September. In the photo for that blip, Cam and Tanesha and Joe appear, arm in arm, in the photo just below the blip-date on the page.)

Rio was born at 8:13 in the morning. She weighs about six pounds and is 20 inches long. I can't wait to see my mother get to hold her, as my mother ADORES babies. Congrats to the proud parents! Welcome, welcome, little one, to this big, bright, beautiful world!

Now, I find I have two soundtrack songs for this day. One is the song any 80s folks among my crowd just KNEW had to go with this posting, so here are Natalie Merchant (love to watch her twirl!) and Michael Stipe, with Candy Everybody Wants.

Second, this is my soundtrack song of welcome for the sweet new tiny baby girl in our family! Here is Louis Armstrong, with What a Wonderful World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.