A little luxury, and some sad news

Way back in January, a friend and I managed to book a table at a new restaurant in Lichfield. It was  a superb lunch - so good, in fact, that we booked on line for a repeat visit before we’d finished our starters.

A good job we did.  This gem of a restaurant, “Upstairs” has been awarded the first ever Michelin star in Staffordshire.  Today was our return visit. We went on the bus (so we could have wine with the seven courses on the Tasting Menu). 

Just fabulous. My blip is of the second appetiser, a horseradish ice cream, topped by a red veined sorrel, sitting in a Rioja and red cabbage gazpacho with droplets of fine olive oil from Portugal.

We have booked again, but the earliest we could get was November 3rd, and that is a standby reservation ! The November dates went on sale this morning and all the Friday and Saturday slots sold out in the first three minutes !

I was tearful as I walked back to my house. There was no little face in the window welcoming me home. I lost Furbie on Wednesday. Her nasty lump did not respond to treatment. My little lockdown mate. I miss her so much. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.