When you Get Your Eye In!

My blip today is of great importance and excitement to me and of no interest at all to anyone else!

I've been scrutinising the mini meadow daily for signs of wildflowers I can recognise and I've been a bit concerned about the amount of grass which is coming through.  Two years ago I planted a few yellow rattle plants which are parasitic to grass, and last year we bought seed which Tony brought on in the greenhouse and then planted out.  Neither plantings seemed to thrive particularly well, despite me marking the position of the plants with lollipop sticks and weeding around them.  We did get some growth, but lots appeared to have failed.

When I looked more closely this afternoon, I spotted a tiny yellow rattle plant, then I got my eye in and, as you can see in my blip, there are LOTS!  I scanned the rest of the meadow and found even more in clumps which is really good news, especially as we have a further batch of plug plants arriving this month.  

I can spot 11 separate yellow rattle plants in my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.