2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Breakfast bagel

Popped round the corner from the hotel to pick up some breakfast before catching up on emails.

This is a rather delicious toasted cinnamon and raisin bagel with cream cheese inside. I sat down with the bagel and a large cup of coffee and took advantage of the free wifi. The BBC breaking news (lunchtime in the UK) was that Margaret Thatcher had died. To someone of my generation she will always be 'Thatcher the milk snatcher' and her time as prime minister coincided with most of my growing up years and the beginning of my political attitudes.

So, when people ask 'Where were you when you heard that Thatcher had died?', I will be able to reply 'In a Washington DC bagel shop with a heavenly breakfast bagel'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.