Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Mermaid's eyes

When I was a little girl, my mother asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. Over the years, my answers changed somewhat. Here is a chronological list:

1. Mermaid
2. Fairy princess
3. Archaeologist
4. Forensic pathologist
5. Scientist of some kind
6. Physicist

To be perfectly honest, the forensic pathology phase was mostly to make older people edge away from me in terror when I replied to their interrogations. Partly, though, it was because of Quincy.

So, now that I am all grown up I have managed to find a job which combines Chemistry, Physics and Biology as well as the odd smattering of Maths and Art as well. I am not sure how much of that is down to luck and how much hard work. I'm certainly very lucky to have such fun people to work with.

This shot is of a PhD student that I work alongside in the Biomedical Physics research group. This is Laureline as I imagine she would be if she were a mermaid. Don't be fooled by the twinkle in her eyes; this one's dangerous. She will lure you out to sea until you're grounded on the rocks.

P.S. I visited Laureline today to cut her hair and watch DVDs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.