Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DAY ONE

Breakfast, then off to explore the Fitness Centre. JR is deliriously happy - they have all the equipment you could wish for, including a bike on the deck outside looking at the waves. I almost wish I’d brought my gym stuff. But I have got my togs… 

Actually, I went for a consultation about my back/knee/foot problems, and what a revelation that was. I did a footprint which revealed all the pressure points that cause such problems. Yes, I bought the innovative insoles, so convinced was I of their healing properties.

After lunch we did a walking tour of Cadiz. What an interesting wee city with such history. The walk was only about two hours, but I was fair puggled by the time we got back to the ship. And we had to hurry when we realised the time. There was a formal reception with the captain. We had ten minutes to get changed - I have never seen JR get ready so fast!

The captain introduced all the officers, people from all over the world. We sat with a couple of folk (from Glasgow) who have been travelling with SilverSeas for a over twenty years! In fact, the captain came over to speak to them, as did many of the crew all evening. Also Yuri, from Ukraine, who has worked with the company for many years - he’s a singer, and he was appearing in a show later that evening.

We went with our new friends to a wonderful restaurant, the meal was truly amazing. Quite the best I have ever had. 

When we said goodnight to them, we popped along to the theatre to see the show that Yuri was in - old show tunes. Very professionally done. 

When it finished and we left, we happened to catch sight of one of the bars which looked lively - very lively - so we went along for a nightcap (I haven’t had a Bailey’s for yonks. And I don’t remember JR ever choosing a Drambuie…) 

And what a party was going on - there are about 80 travel agents from all over the world (but mainly America) on this trip. And they were leering up! There had been a jazz band on, but they finished as we sat down (no connection). But the DJ then put on some great vibes that got the whole crowd up dancing. And they were a friendly bunch and insisted that we join them too. What a fun evening. I managed to jig around a bit even though my feet/knees were aching from the city tour. My uncomfortable new court shoes didn’t seem to bother me too much.

Not sure I can stand the pace!!

PS JR is gobsmacked at all the diamonds on show!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.