Girl with hoop

Today I took Libby on a different route from our normal walks from the house, through the Normansfield Hospital grounds to find this statue. ( My blip of 28 March referred to this place and Downs syndrome)  Although I have passed near it many times I had not noticed it ! It is surrounded by very old apple trees which are not yet in flower, in the summer they will probably obscure the statue even more. 
The bronze statue is called ‘ Girl with a Hoop’ by Andre Wallace and it is to portray a figure confronting life’s challenge with confidence and hope. A pity there is no plate or inscription on the plinth.  I assume this was made and put up when the site was redeveloped and all the new houses built there about 20 years ago.

Another day of mixed weather, some sun but very chilly and dark skies later in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.