Noticing and framing

My favourite, and usually only approach to abstract photography is to see shapes, colours, lines or textures I find striking or interesting, then, by framing them, extract them from their context so that they represent only themselves. I enjoy this approach in both natural and built environments, though I've not had many opportunities to photograph cities since I began blipping in 2021. My plan for this week's Abstract Thursday challenge was to walk around the orchard and see what I could find in the bark or roots. I didn't expect to get up to a thin covering of snow and a swirling blizzard which obscured the Downs and the other side of the valley, poorly captured through the window in today's extra. This unseasonal onslaught continued for much of the day, with the bitterly cold wind finding its way into the house and the bones, and left me searching the garden room, which is the lightest space in the house, for interesting things to frame. I liked the messy inside of this old builder's bucket, but was disappointed with the clarity of the images - I was too close to manage the curve of the bucket well, so this is the best of a bad lot. Not what I wanted for today's tribute to Robert/Youoregon1 who started Abstract Thursday and has recently had major surgery; as a relative newcomer, I don't know him, but I am grateful for the continuing encouragement to notice the shapes and patterns around me and and join others in sending him my very best wishes for the best possible recovery. I hope he may be encouraged to see what he started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.