Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Summer in the city

First things first: it's been warm today, at its highest the temperature was 23 degrees. YAY!

Earlier in the day I decided to take another look at the light I tried to connect last week; after half an hour I stopped, I can't fathom out where I'm going wrong, so it'll just have to hang there and be damned.

Whilst outside, I detected three diferent songs coming from three different houses; the one closest to mine was playing 'Please Release Me' on what sounded like a Hammond Organ.
For a split second the street resembled a Blackpool ballroom. I half expected to hear 'Quando, quando, quando', but to my disappointment it never came.

I mowed the lawn. Had to be done; Igor has been munching on the tufts of grass all this week and making himself puke. Inside of course. (Will he ever learn?)

That *gargantuan* task out of the way (it took me less than 5 minutes), it was bikini and book in the garden. One I read the other I wore ;)

The rose I planted only last week has at least 15 new shoots on it, the poppies, cornflowers have enjoyed a growing spurt these last few days.

Music and children playing were to be heard, as were electric saws, motorbikes revving up, distant sirens, laughter, the church bells and clock not so far away. Even when you are alone, the surrounding hubbub somehow makes you feel you are not.

I didn't even venture out today, didn't feel the need to. Photographed these amaryllis though.

Dinner was veggie Jalfrezi, eaten outside. As I type this, the clock has just struck nine, and I'm still outside, Notebook on my lap, it's still warm.

Summer seems to have arrived, disguised as spring. Here's a bit of Joe Cocker to keep you in the mood!

Enjoy your evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.