WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Up The Pole!

The painting was all finished in time for elevenses. Great when you have the right tools. The roller and the squishy ball thing screw on the end of a long pole. It made the job much easier. 

I was very tired after lunch and tried to have a nap but it didn’t happen so I got up and pottered around for a bit.
Then I told Frank to take Bella May (Sunday name) for a pint at the local, he didn’t need telling twice and Bella’s ears pricked up when she heard ‘pub’
she knows she gets treats there! I put the telly on and promptly fell asleep, it works a treat.

Frank found an Italian recipe book in the bus shelter and made a lovely pasta dish with spinach, red pepper and bacon in it. (Richmond’s vegan bacon - it’s delicious) I was never actually a bacon fan but for a change it’s really good.
Then I got down to writing my poem after a look round the garden.
See extra.

93/365 
Heather Branch

I have a distant memory     
of a caravan holiday
somewhere in Scotland 
I don’t remember where 
maybe Perthshire or Fife 
or maybe further North
there are so many places
they get jumbled in my head
I just remember walking down
a gentle hill on a sunny day
a model aeroplane swooped 
and nearly crashed into us
we strode through high heather
and I found a piece broken off
it was dead, black and woody
but so beautiful, I took it home
and hung it horizontal on the wall
a work of nature’s own art
and when we moved house 
it came too but I left it outside
on top of a flowerbed and 
there it still lies 4 years later
Whenever it catches my eye
I remember that holiday
somewhere in Scotland
on that lovely hill.

I hope you’ve had a good weekend.
Thanks for the comments, stars and hearts - I really appreciate them ;-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.