When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Oh Happy Day, Oh Happy Day...

Today we decided to head to Barceloneta for some seafood. Barceloneta was constructed for displaced poor folks from the construction of the Ciudadela of Barcelona. The streets are narrow, full of crowded balconies. Apparently during the Summer, people take their couches and TV's onto the streets to escape the heat.

We were struggling to find a suitable spot for lunch when we chanced across a small bar. It was full of locals, but the warm welcome was immediate and plates of tapas were thrust under our noses for sampling as soon as we walked in the door. We had a bit of everything and it was all great. The bill was a mere 14 euros and it was certainly one of the best meals of our holiday.

Afterwards we wandered along the beach before heading back towards the apartment for a siesta before the evening. At least that was the plan. As soon as I got back to within range of the apartment's wi-fi my Guardian news app buzzed to life "Margaret Thatcher Dies of Stroke". My feet leave the ground and I punch the air for joy.

Sleep is off the cards after that. I pour a beer and sit on the balcony absorbing the differing responses coming in on Facebook. Mainly unrestrained joy amongst the circles of people I know and love.

Thatcher was a giant dark cloud over my childhood. She was the Witch. TagsShe was everything we stood against. She was a monster, a tyrant and a psycopath. It's a devise issue for sure, but one I find is certainly the quickest way to asses someones character. I don't break bread with people on the otherside of this divide. Total deal breaker.

We headed back to our local bar that evening and order a celebratory bottle of Cava. We smile, we sing ding dong the Witch is dead on the Subway and meet other Jubilant British citizens out to mark the passing of a terrible woman. The next day my head is splitting. I don't care, I still feel great.

Some have talked about a lack of respect. She didn't respect the Miners. She didn't respect the Scottish People. She didn't respect the Hillsborough families. She didn't respect the oppressed in South Africa. I could go on.

If you disagree, I wouldn't don't bother commenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.