Spring cleaning on the Thames

After an exhausting morning playing footie with three very energetic and enthusiastic boys we all went out for a walk along the Thames with the boys on bikes and scooter. The sun was out, the Thames was sparkling and the towpath was the busiest I have seen it. The local rowing club was also out in force with coaches sending out instructions through megaphones from their bikes while other boats joined in the general melee - long boats, cruisers and a small rowboat. Oblivious to all the activity around them, a pair of swans were completely absorbed in attending to their personal hygiene and it was fascinating watching them arching their slender necks into the river to scoop up water which they then tossed over their backs before proceeding to preen and titivate.

Then it was time to start heading back north. I was taking my sister and one of my nieces back to Lancashire with me and it was really enjoyable having company in the car. I am staying here overnight and then completing the final leg home to tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.