A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Orange

Officially no longer a Lemon.

Back in October I mentioned that I'd restarted my karate training.  Today was my first grading at the new club.

Clubs vary in how they take in belts earnt at other clubs / traditions. I'd been invited to wear my black belt but felt it more appropriate, and more comfortable for the other newcomers, to drop back to a Yellow belt.  Sensei Nikki had indicated she'd grade me at Orange this March, hence Yellow.

It's interesting how the three clubs I've trained with differ.  The first, Wado Ryu karate, was a freestyle class and focussed on fitness and endurance.  The second, Shotokan, focussed on stability and power.  The current club, Wado again, and perhaps because it's led by a woman, focusses on precision and technique and in this aspect I've a fair distance to go before warranting a black belt again.

--
Did you know there's no standardisation of belt colour order?  The only commonality is that they start light and get darker.  Traditionally, you only had the one (white) belt and re-dyed it at each level, it thus getting darker and darker with each dyeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.