The Cloisters in New York

I love this place. When I lived in NYC, I would visit at least once a month. It's part of the city and yet it feels like it's far away in time and space. Every stone of it was moved here from Europe and given to the City of New York, thanks to some American millionaires. The green-backed unicorn tapestries are here, matching the red-backed ones at the Cluny in Paris. When Seth was four years old, I brought him here. Every time I visit New York, I have to go. The gardens are beautiful, even in deep winter. The view of the Hudson is spectacular. The cloisters themselves have a meditative air.

Today we arrived at a special moment just as a program for people with dementia and their caregivers was beginning. If you're interested in cutting-edge programming for people with Alzheimer's or dementia, check out the link here. What a great program.

I took so many pictures that I had to open up a whole new album for them. But of all the pictures I took today, this gentle man is my favorite. I was sitting in the Orangerie, blissing out, aiming at a distant window, when this man walked into my frame. Gently, affectionately, he touched the leaves of the plant. He inhaled the fragrance. He smiled, and then he drifted off. I think it's my favorite picture of this whole trip so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.