Thinking and loving

Laurie treated me to the Chinese Garden, and while we were there, she said with tears in her eyes that she’s thinking about the heartbreak of climate change as she thinks about a loved one with cancer. You don’t let the cancer define the person. You love them with all you have, and you concentrate on every moment of life with them. You don’t think ahead. Every moment, this moment, is all there is, and is a gift, and wonderful beyond description. As she explained that, I noticed the light on her hands and the careful way she made her hands fit together. I thought that what she was saying about the earth applies equally to all we love. Each moment, this moment, wonderful beyond description.

It reminded me of the Mary Oliver poem about her dog, Percy:

I Ask Percy How I Should Live My Life

Love, love, love, says Percy.
And hurry as fast as you can
along the shining beach, or the rubble, or the dust.
Then, go to sleep.
Give up your body heat, your beating heart.
Then, trust.


Set of six more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.