WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Pendle Hill

We weren’t walking there. We were in the car coming back from Bolton where we collected some dog food we ordered (thanks for the tip off Greengirl! ;-) Bella’s food has been out of stock everywhere - why? The seller said it’s due to Covid, war, storms etc. He buys burst bags in bulk as he and his mum run an animal rescue. I immediately warmed to him. We got the food much cheaper too although we did have to drive 40 miles. Anyway, Pendle Hill look lovely in the mist and Frank stopped the car so I could Blip it.

As I couldn’t finish the wallpapering today I painted the chimney breast in our bedroom which had some marks on it and also glossed the windowsill on the landing.

We had a short visit from our young friend Amy and little Evelyn 
We were shocked when she told us her husband had left her 2 weeks ago with no reason given. They seemed so in love last time we saw them in February and both dote on little Evelyn but she said he has made no effort to spend time with the little girl. It made me so sad. She said lockdown didn’t help and he had been hiding bills.
That and items in the newspaper inspired my somewhat miserable poem today, I tried to end it on a happier note :-/.

95/365 Out of Everything

Everything is out of order
Out of sorts out of sync
It feels like we’re on the brink
Of collapse
Businesses are out of capital
Out of workers out of stock
They’ve reached a gridlock
Shop closed
People are out of money
Out of heating out of food
Yet they should show gratitude
For a pittance
Couples are out of patience
Out of love out of their minds
The stress of it all they find
Is too much
The government is out of truth
Out of excuses out of favour
They get away with bad behaviour
Every time
Yet we’re not out of nature yet
And nature is not out of bounds
The earth will still turn around
And better days will come

Yesterday’s poem is also there now and is more light hearted.

94/365 
Wallpapering

I stuck the paper to the walls
The straight bits went quite well
But with boxed in pipes and 
nothing plumb it’s far from parallel
I ended up a right sticky mess,
With off cuts stuck to my feet 
Then I ran out of wallpaper
I miscalculated what I’d need 
I was getting tired and sweary
The odd pieces I had left didn’t fit
I cut some the wrong way round
And wasted the last two bits
I went on line and ordered a roll 
And by six o’clock I was done in
So I put my feet up on the couch
And poured me a well earned gin!

Little Lucy has been face timing us for the last few days. She is so funny the way she chats whilst doing other things and disappearing from the screen. She always tells us how much she loves and misses us. I can’t wait to see them all on Thursday.

That’s all for today folks.
Goodnight ;-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.