A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Not Crazy

When spring hits I keep my eyes to the trees, and the sky, continuously scanning for new birds returning. They’re easier to spot as the trees are still bare and everywhere you look is drab so any flash of color catches your eye • After walking around Waterfront Park, where the Boat Landing is located, we returned to the car to leave. Suddenly a bird landed in a tree nearby. It wasn’t the song sparrow we saw (or heard) earlier, it was different. As it was flitting from limb to limb and tree to tree I noticed white on the tip of the tail. “Oh, my gosh, it’s a cedar waxwing!” MrsP reminded it couldn’t be it was too early. I extended my lens to get a better look and Voila, a cedar waxwing!! Woohoo!! My most favorite bird has arrived more than a month early • Crazy? • When we arrived home I made a batch of sugar water. Why? Last Saturday I swear I saw a hummingbird whiz by. It couldn’t be, it’s much too early, I thought. This morning MrsP said she may have seen one but wasn’t sure. Online I saw a reported sighting in southern Maine, and now after this morning’s waxwing, I’m putting two feeders out • Call me Crazy • Later this afternoon we’re scheduled for our second booster shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.