ferryoons

By ferryoons

Metamorphosis

We started outside, knowing the weather would break. Shifting the soil heap after 2 inches of rain in 24 hours was, shall we say heavy? Turning, I caught my toe under some wood, lost balance and fell back over a stone pile. Believe me, on the way down, there's plenty of time for "OK, what'll it be? Hip or femur? Left, right, or both?" Lucky break, boys and girls, nothing broken. But there I lay like Kafka’s fly, in a hole, waggling limbs in air, unable to extricate myself till hauled out.

And wow, do I have a technicolor backside! So instead of the photo you don't want anyway, here's a ladybird house.

What do you think? Such advice as came with it suggests you tie it to a stake at ground level. But ladybirds fly, as do such bees as might want to squat. And I wonder about slugs and other ground crawling nasties. So would I be wiser to fix it above ground level?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.