An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Let there be light...

The snow forecast for today didn't arrive.  Quelle surprise!  

The sun actually shone for most of it and I captured my blip while preparing lunch, when a beautiful sunbeam shot through the skylight and landed right on the vase of tulips on the kitchen table in front of me.  So beautiful.

One of our near neighbours has been having work done to her house over the last year and we have particularly admired the roof on the extension and the garage.  

Our roof definitely needs some attention as we've had a couple of leaks and other repairs done in the 10 years we've been here, but the time has come to have it properly assessed and a repair and maintenance plan put in place.

David saw the roofer's van outside our neighbour's house and contacted him to arrange a visit.  He popped over to see us this morning and we had a very constructive chat.  He's going to come back tomorrow and assess the roof, with best case scenario being repairs required in certain parts, and worse case scenario being a new roof required.  Hopefully not the latter!  

The house is 122 years old and roofed in Welsh slate, which may well be the original roof as Welsh slate has a life span of well over 100 years.  I am hoping it's the nails holding the slates in place that are perishing and the slates can be reused.  

I spent the bulk of the afternoon in the studio playing with acrylic paints.  After almost three years of focussing entirely on watercolour painting techniques (working in transparent layers and from light to dark) acrylics are a whole new ball game and will take some getting used to!  I decided to paint a little whimsical fantasy flower scene loosely based on tulips (in extras) and had a lot of fun.  Not my best work but like my early watercolours, will hopefully one day be used to show how far I've come!  Fingers crossed!  lol

Didn't get any Easter crochet done today so tomorrow I will be rushing to finish off the little crochet baskets for the cream eggs or mini eggs.  I have 10 five-petal flowers to make with a button stitched to each of their centres, then have to attach them to the baskets.  I have an Easter Bunny to stuff and a bunny head to stitch the ears onto then create a face on it!  No pressure but I want to have all the Easter decorations up for the girls coming back on Friday :-))

And here I am again, uploading my blip directly before bed!  Must do better so I have proper time to look at your journals!  Sigh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.