Rodents rule

By squirk

Tea and cake

Tonight was the first meeting outside work for Jane and I. We worked together for years at my last job and I've really missed the wee chats we had before every meeting at work. It's the people I miss from my old workplace. So, we decided to meet up at a tea and cake establishment, and where better than Maison Bertaux? We settled down with tea and a cake around 6.30pm. Our chat was interrupted by one of the staff to say that they were closing soon. We looked at the time in surprise - 10pm!! It was fantastic to catch up.

When I returned home, I heard the tell-tale gnawing sound coming from the corner of the kitchen. I turned on the light, grabbed the camera and photographed this. Aaah, so that's why the mouse trap has remained empty... the size of the nose and whiskers, and the circumference of the tail I saw when the rodent turned round, indicates a rattus rattus rather than a cute wee mouse. Hmmm. Humane rat trap was swiftly ordered and should be delivered tomorrow. No wonder Whisky wasn't interested - a rat is an entirely different game of chase and one that scaredy-cat Whisky is unlikely to undertake. The cat was carefully standing behind me as I took the photo and followed me straight out of the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.