ABSTRACT THURSDAY

This should be Wild Wednesday, as the wind is absolutely crazy today.  Mr. HCB suggested we went out together for coffee, so we went over to Hall & Woodhouse and could hardly walk from the car to the door of the pub without getting blown over.  

We got there just before they opened, so I went for a wander around by the canal, making sure I didn’t get blown in!  These are the balustrades of a walkway over the canal and you can see the paintings on the hoardings through the spindles.  I thought it made a good natural abstract for today.

Later in the morning, I went to Tesco to do some shopping and when I came out, I couldn’t even push my trolley to the car because the wind was so strong.  In fact, a man in a van stopped to ask if I was OK because I was walking in such a zig-zagging manner, it must have looked as if I’d been drinking.  I know it sounds far-fetched, but it’s true.  

When I got home, Mr. HCB and I had to rescue our patio table and chairs as they had been upended.  We also had to do some repairs on a couple of plants on the fence, but Mr. HCB, who knows about the weather much more than I, says it should have subsided by later this afternoon. I do hope that it dies down before the men come to put up the scaffolding on Saturday!  

For those who were concerned about the roofing company, the owner’s son has just been round to check that there have been no problems with the large pieces of wood they have put on our conservatory roof because of the high winds - we were impressed.  

I must apologise for not getting back to anyone yesterday, but I went out to a Worship Group singing practice in the evening and intended doing some commenting when I got back, but after standing and singing for over 2 hours, I was very tired and just needed to rest.  Anyway, I am most grateful to everyone for their lovely comments, stars and hearts for the grey heron and will try harder today!  

I was looking for a quote about the wind and came across this poem, which I rather liked - I must look for one of this poet’s books:

“Sit and be still
until in the time
of no rain you hear
beneath the dry wind's
commotion in the trees
the sound of flowing
water among the rocks,
a stream unheard before,
and you are where
breathing is prayer.”
Wendell Berry

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.