This is the day

By wrencottage

Good Intentions

We set off for our walk this morning at 9.30 but were back in twenty minutes because the wind was strong, and bitterly cold, and neither of us was enjoying battling against it. On our return we had our morning coffee and then I started getting on with lots of jobs that I had planned for the day.

I did three loads of washing, and in between I made two birthday cards and two wedding anniversary cards to send to friends of ours. However, what I really wanted to do was to get started on making a dress for granddaughter #3. I had bought the fabric last September, but life got in the way for a few months and I’ve only felt ready to get back to it today. I had just got the pattern and fabric out when the doorbell rang.  Guess what? It was granddaughter #3 with her Dad, who had just collected her from nursery! So all thought of dressmaking for her went out of the window while Granny and Grandpa enjoyed her company instead. 

I’m making the dress on the right of the pattern envelope. I’ve made two in this pattern before, in a delightful raspberry pink jersey with hedgehogs scattered over it, and the two little girls looked great wearing their matching dresses. There are pockets set into the seams on both sides of the skirts in which the girls can hide their treasures. And the organic jersey fabric is so soft. I really hope I can start on it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.