Straight hedges, winding lane

Wednesday was miserably wet and gloomy, but around four the rain stopped and I enjoyed a surprisingly lovely walk, looking for long, straight lines I could frame for Wide Wednesday. The avenue, a row of terraced cottages and the long line of trees beside the Nailbourne were all both straight and reasonably interesting. I had not planned to walk up Chalk Pit Lane, but when I reached the bottom of Duck Street and looked up the hill, I was attracted by the straight, geometric outlines of the recently flailed hedges. The view up the lane was straighter, but the view back down is more interesting, framing the church and the village rooves, despite the kink in the lane. I walked up briskly and a little nervously - it's too narrow for a car to pass a pedestrian, and the banks have no footholds, so the only option if a car approaches is to trot back to the bottom. I then turned off up the stepped footpath onto the hillside, which offered a pretty view of the village framed by leaves and blossom and a choice of routes. I reluctantly realised I needed to return home before J's PA finished her shift, so the longer walk is something to look forward to another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.