Abstract?

I'm not sure if this would be considered an abstract photo. It was taken with an abstract intention, during a wander round the garden framing little patches of colour and texture and finding lines through shapes, and the other photos I took are more obviously abstract, but this one was my favourite. I liked the colours and texture of the very fine twigs, the contrast of the dry leaves, and the way the lighter coloured twigs frame the leaves. I think it's the remains of an old nest, amidst the piles of branches and debris still being cleared up after the storm damage. 

I'm back blipping this while giving J her Saturday brunch; every time I start to catch up with myself, a busy day pushes me back to more late posting. Both J's PAs are now on holiday, visiting their long-neglected families in Germany, until after Easter, so I'm not likely to be back on track for a little while. Her care budget funds holiday cover, but we don't currently have anyone to provide it. Apart from her activities and online social life, I've spent some unplanned time sorting out the piles of clothes waiting to be mended; some need very small amounts of attention but haven't been worn for months or years because they got lost in a basket somewhere, others need more demanding repairs like new zips, while some are really no good for anything except recycling into carpet underlay. I no longer know where I can take textiles for recycling when they are not suitable for sale or donation. My new resolution is to mend at least one item every week until I catch up; that may take years. I like mending, I find it satisfying and quietly mindful, but setting aside time is challenging when there are always more urgent things on my list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.