Wood anemones

Anemone nemorosa


I walked up the hill and into the wood to enjoy and photograph wood anemones, which are now in full, starry bloom all over the woodland floor. The light was lovely too, so I was disappointed to find that many of my photos were over-exposed, despite some exposure compensation: the bright sunlight falling on the white flowers in the dappled shade of the wood proved more difficult that I remember it being before. However, it was a gorgeous walk with celandines and violets in the hedgerows beside the lane, lots more celandines amongst the wood anemones, and bluebells just starting to open. There will be many more bluebells in a week or too. The track through the wood is still very muddy, thick oozy mud which discouraged me from going far even in boots, but the pool is full, the green leaf buds are just opening on the trees, and as I returned down the hill the brilliant blue sky, dotted with just a few clouds, seemed to arch high above me.

Thank you Miranda for restarting wildflower weeks. It's the perfect moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.