WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Keep it simple

I started revitalising my dried sourdough starter on Tuesday, but it wasn't looking great. So I went for my standard fallback, a yeast-based spelt loaf in a tin. It may not look like much, but it has a delicious flavour. Meanwhile, I discarded most of the starter, fed it again, and put it on top of the router. A foolproof method -- it was buzzing with life this afternoon. So proper bread could be on the cards very soon -- I've stocked up with fresh flour, noting the large gaps on the flour shelves in the organic shop.

Other domestic tasks: while S was out at the dentist, I made lunch: roast chicken, roast potatoes, braised carrots, gravy made with the giblets. It's ages since I made such a (relatively) complicated meal, requiring multi-tasking, and I felt quite frazzled when I served it up, especially as I was making bread simultaneously for efficient oven use. But it was delicious, with extra brownie points for the gravy. Plenty of chicken left over for further meals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.