Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Hit the brakes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Saw this sitting on a drive just down the road from me. Harks back to the days when the USA produced desireable cars with distinction. Now from what I have seen, they either produce huge RVs that must be like tanks to drive or poor imitations of European cars.

I grew up watching American tv programs and like most boys of that time had a fascination for American cars. I went to Florida for 2 weeks when I was 21 (courtesy of Freddie Laker - if you know the name, you must be my generation) and hired a Pontiac Firebird for 2 weeks. It could have been tipping it down with rain, stormy, windy or even snowed. I would still have had a great time just sitting behind the wheel of that car :-)

Visited the hospital today for what I thought was to be my last appointment only to be told they had got the dates wrong and I was 4 months early. So, I now have to go back in October. Hopefully this really will be the last time.

Took a book with me to read during the inevitable wait. Picked it up in a charity shop 2 weeks ago. It's 'My Favourite Wife' by Tony Parsons. I've enjoyed other titles by this author but picked this one as it is set in China which has family connections. I loved the cover note which quotes the Times as saying 'His evocation of modern China - "a medieval contry with broadband" sums the place up better than I could do in a dozen pages.

So, highlight of my day - being premature and being able to blame someone else for it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.