LesTension

By LesTension

LONG-DISTANCE SHOOTING

I have a friend who has some friends who are long-distance shooters. They had just returned from a competition where they were shooting for accuracy at over half a mile distance.
~
It was fascinating watching them shoot, hearing the rifle bark, watching through the spotting scope and then seeing the splat where the bullet hit 3 or 4 seconds after firing.
~
They offered me an opportunity to take three shots.....granted, the rifle was already sighted in and all I had to do was pull the trigger and play with the vagaries of the cross winds.
~
BTW....you could buy a brand new car for the price of that rifle and scope. 1st Extra....me lining up a shot. That rifle kicks a bit as you can imagine from the size of the powder load pushing the bullet down the barrel.
~
2nd Extra.....me at the target which is a steel plate about 2 x 3 feet painted white. I shot three times and hit all three times. The orange paint spot is the bullseye...the black splats is where my bullets hit. The guy who owns the rifle and several others like it puts all three shots into the orange paint.
~
3rd Extra.....to give you an idea of the distance I was shooting from. I'm kneeling at the target looking back towards where I was when I shot. See the red X.....that's where I was sitting. Dunno the exact distance but it was close to 3/4ths of a mile (1.207km approx.)
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.