Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dark Eyed Junco, Oregon sub-variant

In all my trips to OR, I don't ever think I have gotten a good photo of the Oregon sub-variant of this species.  Which is surprising because they are quite common.  However, much like our dark-eyed juncos on the east coast (slate-colored sub-variant), they spend much of their time on the ground.  So I am quite happy to have gotten this shot along with several others this morning at Tualatin NWR.

Mom, Dad and I enjoyed several miles of woodland trails with some nice bird sightings and a bonus of some Mule Deer (Extra).  As usual, we walked and talked and stopped along the way for me to take some pics.  It was cooler today and windy, but sunny skies.  The wetland trails at the Refuge are still closed to allow nesting waterfowl to go about their business - all trails to reopen May 1.  

Tomorrow I have my long trip back east, via Dallas.  It will be a long day of travel, but I'll have a fully charged Kindle to keep me busy.

Dark with passion fruit and blueberries today - and yes, it's as good as it sounds.

Thanks for coming along with me on this trip.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.